The Ribeira Sacra is a wine production area with 2,500 hectares of vineyards, representing 5.2% of the land used for vines in Galicia. It is made up of parishes and places in 20 municipalities located along the banks of the Miño and Sil rivers, in the south of the province of Lugo and north of Ourense.

These municipalities are grouped into five sub-zones traditionally recognised as producers of very special wines: the Amandi sub-zone, Chantada sub-zone, Quiroga-Bibei sub-zone, Ribeiras do Miño sub-zone, and Ribeiras do Sil sub-zone.

The surface area dedicated to vine growing in all of them is restricted to the riverside and the main variety is Mencía.

As authorised varieties, it has preferential white varieties such as Godello, Loureira, Treixadura, Doña Blanca, Albariño, Torrontés, Blanco Legítimo and Caíño Blanco. As preferential reds, the protected territory has Mencía, Brancellao, Merenzao, Sousón, Caíño Tinto, Caíño Longo and Caíño Bravo and as authorised reds, Garnacha Tintorera, Mouratón, Tempranillo, and Gran Negro.